Gluten-Free Diets – Separating the Wheat from the Chat

How common is gluten sensitivity? Are there benefits of gluten? Why does the medical profession explicitly advise against people who suspect they might be gluten intolerant from just going on a gluten-free diet?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free recipe from his new HOW NOT TO DIE COOKBOOK. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from the sales of his books, DVDs, and speaking engagements go to support the 501c3 nonprofit that runs NutritionFacts.org.)

This is the second video in a 3-part series on the latest science on gluten and gluten-free diets. Though the medical profession now recognizes wheat sensitivity as a discrete entity, it’s still not clear if it’s actually the gluten to which people are reacting. See the first part for a review of the controversy: Is Gluten Sensitivity Real? (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/is-gluten-sensitivity-real)

In the final installment, How to Diagnose Gluten Intolerance (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-diagnose-gluten-intolerance), I’ll go step by step how someone may want to proceed who suspects they might be sensitive to gluten-containing grains.

More on the benefits of whole grains in general in Whole Grains May Work As Well As Drugs (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/whole-grains-may-work-as-well-as-drugs/) and Alzheimer’s Disease: Grain Brain or Meathead? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/alzheimers-disease-grain-brain-or-meathead/).

More on keeping our gut flora happy in videos such as Preventing the Common Cold with Probiotics? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-the-common-cold-with-probiotics/) and Beans and the Second Meal Effect (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/beans-and-the-second-meal-effect/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/gluten-free-diets-separating-the-wheat-from-the-chat/ and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/
• Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate