How to Treat Periodontitis with Diet

Plant-based diets are put to the test in the treatment of periodontal disease.

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

Stay tuned for Best Foods for Halitosis and Gingivitis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/best-foods-for-halitosis-and-gingivitis)!

For more on diet and oral health, check out:
• Don’t Use Antiseptic Mouthwash (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dont-use-antiseptic-mouthwash)
• Plant-Based Diets: Oral Health (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/plant-based-diets-oral-health/)
• Plant-Based Diets: Dental Health (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/plant-based-diets-dental-health/)
• What’s the Best Mouthwash? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/whats-the-best-mouthwash)
• Protecting Teeth From Hibiscus Tea (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/Protecting-Teeth-From-Hibiscus-Tea)
• Antibacterial Toothpaste: Harmful, Helpful, or Harmless? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/antibacterial-toothpaste-harmful-helpful-or-harmless)
• Do Raisins Cause Cavities? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-raisins-cause-cavities)
• Is Sodium Lauryl Sulfate Safe? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Is-sodium-Lauryl-Sulfate-Safe)
• The Risks of Oil Pulling (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-risks-of-oil-pulling)
• The Role of Dairy and Gluten in Canker Sores (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/The-Role-of-Dairy-and-Gluten-in-Canker-Sores)
• Topical Honey for Canker Sores (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/The-Role-of-Dairy-and-Gluten-in-Canker-Sores)
• Aloe Vera Gel: Best Treatment for Lichen Planus? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/aloe-vera-gel-best-treatment-for-lichen-planus)
• Best Food for Periodontal Disease and Gingivitis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/best-food-for-periodontal-disease-and-gingivitis)

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-treat-periodontitis-with-diet and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-treat-periodontitis-with-diet. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgments for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then «Subtitles/CC.»

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Google+: https://plus.google.com/+NutritionfactsOrgMD
• Podcast : http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Gluten Free Diet

Like most websites gluten free diet uses cookies. In order to deliver a personalized, responsive service and to improve the site, we remember and store information about how you use it. This is done using simple text files called cookies which sit on your computer.