Is Gluten Sensitivity Real?

For more than 30 years, the medical profession has debated the existence of an intolerance to the wheat protein, gluten, unrelated to allergy or celiac disease. What is the evidence pro and con?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

More than 10,000 articles (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?cmd=search&term=gluten) have been published on gluten in medical journals—intimidating even for me! Combined with the multi-billion dollar financial interests on both sides, it makes for a difficult task. But I think I did it! This is the first of a 3-part video series summarizing the best available science on gluten. Stay tuned for Gluten-Free Diets: Separating the Wheat from the Chat (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/gluten-free-diets-separating-the-wheat-from-the-chat) and How to Diagnose Gluten Intolerance (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-diagnose-gluten-intolerance).

Why this apparent increase in food sensitivities in recent decades? It could be because of pollutant exposure (see Alkylphenol Endocrine Disruptors and Allergies http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/alkylphenol-endocrine-disruptors-and-allergies and Dietary Sources of Alkylphenol Endocrine Disruptors http://wwww.nutritionfacts.org/video/dietary-sources-of-alkylphenol-endocrine-disruptors).

What can we do about preventing so-called atopic diseases (like allergies, asthma, and eczema)? See my videos Preventing Allergies in Adulthood (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-allergies-in-adulthood/) and Preventing Allergies in Childhood (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-childhood-allergies/).

The weirdest example of an emerging food sensitivity may be the tick-bite related meat allergy story I review in Alpha Gal and the Lone Star Tick (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/alpha-gal-and-the-lone-star-tick/) and Tick Bites, Meat Allergies, and Chronic Urticaria (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/tick-bites-meat-allergies-and-chronic-urticaria).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/gluten-free-diets-separating-the-wheat-from-the-chat/ and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/
• Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

Gluten Free Diet

Like most websites gluten free diet uses cookies. In order to deliver a personalized, responsive service and to improve the site, we remember and store information about how you use it. This is done using simple text files called cookies which sit on your computer.