Peppermint Oil for Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Peppermint essential oil should be considered the first-line treatment for IBS.

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

I have some other mint videos (Enhancing Athletic Performance With Peppermint http://nutritionfacts.org/video/enhancing-athletic-performance-with-peppermint/ and
Peppermint Aromatherapy for Nausea http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Peppermint-Aromatherapy-for-Nausea) and more coming up! Lemon balm is also in the mint family (Reducing Radiation Damage With Ginger & Lemon Balm http://nutritionfacts.org/video/reducing-radiation-damage-with-ginger-and-lemon-balm/).

You can also sprinkle dried mint on various dishes. See Antioxidants in a Pinch (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidants-in-a-pinch/).

What else might work for IBS? See Kiwifruit for Irritable Bowel Syndrome (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kiwifruit-for-irritable-bowel-syndrome/) and Cayenne Pepper for Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Chronic Indigestion (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/cayenne-pepper-for-irritable-bowel-syndrome-and-chronic-indigestion/).

Irritable bowel symptoms can overlap with problems with gluten. Make sure your physician rules out celiac disease:
• Is Gluten Sensitivity Real? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-gluten-sensitivity-real/)
• Gluten-Free Diets: Separating the Wheat from the Chat (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/gluten-free-diets-separating-the-wheat-from-the-chat/)
• How to Diagnose Gluten Intolerance (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-diagnose-gluten-intolerance/)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/peppermint-oil-for-irritable-bowel-syndrome and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/
• Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

Gluten Free Diet

Like most websites gluten free diet uses cookies. In order to deliver a personalized, responsive service and to improve the site, we remember and store information about how you use it. This is done using simple text files called cookies which sit on your computer.