What is Spelt – If you are wondering what spelt is, you have come to the right place

What is spelt? – http://www.livebrightandhealthy.com – Wondering what is spelt? And what is spelt flour? Well, spelt is an of ancient form of wheat that has been around since biblical times and spelt flour is ground up spelt. It is a whole grain with a delicious nutty flavor, and can be used instead of wheat in bread making. Spelt bread is a great source of whole grain in your diet. Puffed spelt can be eaten as a breakfast cereal just like puffed wheat. Even though spelt is the long-ago ancestor of modern day wheat, till recently, using it fell off by the way side. This could be because spelt is harder than wheat to process and so took a back seat to wheat cultivation. Modern day wheat probably started out as spelt but due to centuries of inbreeding and evolution, has become quite different in its composition. This is probably the cause of gluten intolerance, wheat allergy, gluten allergy and wheat intolerance. Spelt does contain gluten but at much lower levels than wheat. It belongs to the group of gluten grains like wheat, barley, rye, kamut, triticale and oats. Oats does not actually contain gluten but as it is grown with wheat, there is cross contamination at the cultivation stage. So look for oats which is certified gluten free. Now, back to spelt. Many with gluten intolerance or wheat allergies are able to eat spelt even though it has gluten. This could be because of the lower gluten strength in spelt. But if you are allergic to wheat and want to give spelt a try, check with your doctor first and use proper safeguards before doing so. Allergic reactions can be severe. Those with celiac disease should steer clear of spelt entirely as celiacs cannot tolerate gluten at all. But for those of us who can handle spelt, it is an excellent source of manganese, niacin, copper, phosphorus, magnesium, protein, and fiber. Apart from eating spelt as a cereal for breakfast or as spelt bread, there is spelt pasta, spelt flakes and spelt berries. Spelt berries can be cooked like you would rice.

External Tags: «what is spelt», «spelt», «spelt bread»,»spelt flour», «bread making», «kamut», «celiac disease», «gluten free», «celiac», «gluten free diet», «gluten allergy», «gluten intolerance», «wheat allergy», «wheat intolerance», «wheat», «oats», «barley», «rye», «triticale», «live bright and healthy»

Gluten Free Diet

Like most websites gluten free diet uses cookies. In order to deliver a personalized, responsive service and to improve the site, we remember and store information about how you use it. This is done using simple text files called cookies which sit on your computer.